This little post should probably be kept private so everyone doesn't read it and decide I'm pathetic....and because it's more sad than funny.....but oh well.
Today I start a 3 month long women's only running program! That's exciting and scary all at the same time. A feeling that I'm familiar with. Because I start LOTS of new exciting yet scary things all the time. Work out regimes, diets, ummm more diets, ummm downhill mountain bikings, new blogs, goals to not drink for a month that last for a week, whatever. I swear. Lots of things fit in this category. I'm queen of the let's try this thing that will be totally awesome and great for me but oh wait I don't like it so let's nooooot do that actually. So today I'm doing that again, but HOPEFULLY it will not have the same outcome as many a past endeavor of mine. HOPEFULLY I will turn out like Megan and Hillary did, and turn into a real runner! Megan can literally run for an hour now. 60 minutes! And she started out not running at all. This gives me hope. And the go-ahead to buy more thin-inspired clothes that don't quite fit yet.
The plan is simple. Follow the plan that our new running coach Jeanne gives us, and attend the runs on Mondays, Thursdays, and Saturdays. And do them and don't cry. I'm really not sure how to make sure the outcome of this new program is different than the other new programs, but I feel like I have just the right recipe for success. First off- many of the besties are doing it with me (please do not bail Kim, Laura, Smita, Katie, and Megs!) which is the very main reason why I think I might succeed. I usually do better in group situations that involve my friends. Secondly I had to pay to join this thing, which, well actually now that I think about it doesn't matter that much to me. Lord knows I will pay a lot for something and still not do it because I'm too lazy. So actual secondly- I hear the program is easy to follow and that our teacher starts off slow enough to not scare you off. This is key for me. And third off our teacher is this rad chick who is obsessed with running and her excitement is kind of contagious and I love that. With all of these powers combined I just might be able to run around greenlake 3 months from now. Oh and there's this really cute 42 year old rich lady who is in the group too and I'm excited to hang with her so that is another plus. Fourthly.
Quick wrap up- Would like to take a nap after work today but am going to go to our first running practice instead. And maybe in 3 months I'll be able to run a 5k without stopping. Here's to me and lots of my friends becoming runners!!
Monday, September 12, 2011
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
